The Swiss Franc Your Currency in Switzerland

Getting to know the currency of a country is an important first step to getting used to daily life in the country.
The Swiss franc is the official currency of Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Its smaller denomination, a hundredth, is a centime. The Swiss franc is often represented by the symbols CHF, Fr., or SFr.





The current series of banknotes is available in denominations of 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, and 1000. Containing up to 18 different security elements, Swiss banknotes are among the most forgery proof notes in the world. Coins consist of five francs, two francs, and one franc, as well as 50, 20, 10, and 5 centimes. The five-franc coin is known informally as a "Fünfliber" in German and as a thune in French, the one-franc coin is called a "Stutz" in German.

The Swiss franc is one of the most solid currencies in the world. Benefiting from Switzerland's structural current account surplus, it tends to act as a safe haven currency, which grows stronger in times of political and economic crisis, as was again demonstrated at the height of the European debt crisis. The Swiss franc is the sixth-most traded currency on world markets.


Author: Bettina Rutschi Ostermann

Swiss Macroeconomic Research, Credit Suisse

provided by

Take control of your relocation

Free guidance and support lets you take control of your own relocation.

Order extra support easily if you need it.

» Browse our Relocation Store

Featured Partners Thanks to all supporting partners of Hello Switzerland